St Michael's
We believe that a three way partnership between the school, its students and their parents is vital to success

Key Staff

St Michael's Church of England High School Leadership Team is responsible for the local leadership and management of the School on behalf of the Governing Body, within the strategic framework. The Leadership Team has responsibility and accountability for:

  • The School Improvement Plan
  • educational standards, delivery of teaching & learning, curriculum and timetable
  • staffing including management, recruitment, training and PMR
  • student assessment and results
  • attendance & behaviour
  • safeguarding & wellbeing
  • parent & community liaison


Senior Leadership Team

Mrs Jayne Gray

Headteacher (Strategy & Finance)

Mrs Christina Handy-Rivett

Deputy Headteacher

Teaching, Learning & Assessment

Mrs Carolyn Hill

Deputy Headteacher

Personal Development, Behaviour & Welfare (DSL)

Mr Alan Brooks

Assistant Headteacher: Progress

Mr Wayne Hill

Assistant  Headteacher: Facilities and Resources

Ms Faye Jeffreys

Assistant Headteacher: Teaching, Learning & Assessment

Mr Damien Mackinney

Assistant Headteacher: Timetable & Curriculum



Associates to the Senior Leadership Team


Mrs Sarah Beardsmore

Director of Science and Associate Assistant Headteacher for prior higher attainers

Mr Chris Bending

Associate Assistant Headteacher: Pupil Premium & KS3

Mrs Wendy Hill

Associate Assistant Headteacher Behaviour & Transition Coordinator

Ms Lindsay Mitchell-Barnes

Director of English and Associate Assistant Headteacher for Literacy

Mr Shaun Smith

Director of Mathematics and Associate Assistant Headteacher for Numeracy



Heads of Year


Ms Claire Gardner

Head of Year 7

Mr Stuart Dix

Head of Year 8

Mr Jordan Graham

Head of Year 9

Mr Andrew Carriere

Head of Year 10

Mr Lee Mole 

Head of Year 11



 Pastoral Team

 For more information about the Pastoral Team, click here

Miss Rosie Lowe

Assistant Head of Years 10 & 11/Child Protection

Mrs Jill Mills

Vulnerable Students Coordinator/Deputy Safeguarding Officer

Miss Jenna Preston

Assistant Head of Year 7, Year 6 Transition, Behaviour & Refocus 

Miss Kerrie Swanson

Assistant Head of Year 8

Assistant Head of Year 9, Social Emotional Mental Health

Mr Andrew Turner

Assistant Head of Year 8, Social Emotional Mental Health



Special Education Needs (SEN)


Miss Tab Caan

SENCo (Years 7 & 8) & Year 6 Transition

Mrs Mailene Graham

Senior SENCo (Year 9, 11 & 11) & Focus Provision Lead



Subject Leaders


Mrs Natalie Eglington

Head of English

Mr Philip Rigby

Head of Maths

Mrs Shahida Hussain 

Head of Science

Mr Anthony Harmon

Head of Computer Science

Mr David Hughes

Head of Design & Technology

Mrs Marie Perrett

Head of Drama

Mrs Louise Careless

Head of Geography

Mr Ian Sargent

Head of History

Ms Olivia Houten

Head of ICT

Mrs Wendy Fincher-Adams

Head of Modern Foreign Languages

Mrs Rachel Chambers

Head of Music

Mr Glen Gibbons

Head of Physical Education

Ms Adele Rose

Head of Religious Education